New Trustee Appointed to MSD Board

Michael A. Evans was sworn in September 1, 2020, as a member of the Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District (MSD) Board of Trustees.

Mr. Evans was appointed to the MSD Board of Trustees by St. Louis City Mayor Lyda Krewson to replace former Trustee Jim Faul. Mr. Evans’ term runs through March 15, 2025.

Mr. Evans is an attorney with Hartnett Reyes-Hones LLC. His work has primarily involved representing labor unions and multiemployer fringe benefit funds, including arbitration, collective bargaining, and organizing. Mr. Evans has argued and prevailed cases before the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals and the Missouri Supreme Court.

Mr. Evans is a 2006 graduate of the Washington University School of Law, where he was elected to the Order of the Coif and served as an editor of the Washington University Law Review. He is licensed to practice in Missouri, Illinois, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth and Ninth Circuits, and various United States District Courts.

Mr. Evans is a member of the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans, the AFL-CIO Lawyers Coordinating Committee, and the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis.

Voters in 1954 established a six-member Board of Trustees to be the governing body of the Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District. Three members are appointed by the St. Louis City Mayor and three members are appointed by the St. Louis County Executive. MSD’s Board members are trustees of public property and public funds and are responsible to the customers they serve.