Rate Commission

The Latest

About the Rate Commission

The mission of the Rate Commission is to review and make recommendations to the Board of Trustees regarding all proposed changes in wastewater rates, stormwater rates, and tax rates or the change in the structure of any of the foregoing (“rate”).

The Rate Commission was established in 2000 through voter approved amendments to MSD’s Charter and is composed of 15 member organizations representing a broad cross-section of MSD customers and the community it serves. All terms are six years or the completion of any unexpired term. Organizations can be named to successive terms.

The Rate Commission:

  • Reviews all rate proposals
  • Hosts public hearings on rate proposals
  • Makes a recommendation to MSD’s Board of Trustees

MSD 2022 Rate Commission Roster

Commission Delegates: Representing:
Leonard Toenjes, Chair Associated General Contractors
Matt Muren, Vice-Chair St. Louis Realtors
Bill Clarke, Secretary The Engineers Club of St. Louis
Paul Ziegler Education Plus
Patrick Moynihan Greater St. Louis Labor Council, AFL-CIO
Brad Goss Home Builders Assc’n Of St. Louis (HBA)
Stephen Mahfood Missouri Coalition For The Environment (MCE)
Jack Stein Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)
Lisa Savoy Mound City Bar Association
Mark Perkins City Administrator for the City of Creve Coeur
Ryan Barry St. Louis Council Of Construction Consumers (SLC3)
Lou Jearls City of Florissant
Mickey Croyle The League Of Women Voters
Lloyd Palans City of Ladue
Jim Faul North America’s Building Trade Unions